MAC Nutcracker Sweet: Review and Swatches

Beauty

cover-imageA few weeks ago I picked up a few items from the MAC Nutcracker Sweet holiday collection and decided that this had to be the topic for my first ever blog post! I am just obsessed with the bright, bold and fun packaging and the products are just as impressive. I had a really tough time narrowing down everything I wanted from the collection but managed to limit myself to 4 items- all of which I love!

The item at the top of my wish list was definitely the Nutcracker Sweet Copper Face Compact (£29), which includes the re-release of the infamous Whisper of Gilt Extra Dimension Skinfinish – it lives up to all expectations! The compact also includes a blush in the shade Pleasure Model which I thought, when looking at swatches online, was going to be far to dark for my skin tone. However, I am really pleasantly surprised by the blush and find when applied with a light hand (it is very pigmented) it actually does work for me.

The second item I picked up (and possibly my favourite) is the Gold Pigments and Glitter Kit (£26). The packaging for this is so cute and has a pull out drawer which contains the pigments and glitter. I love MAC pigments and use them pretty much every time I do a dramatic eye look- they are also very versatile and can be used as a highlight, mixed with a mixing medium or pressed on top of lipstick for a glittery lip effect.

The two pigments in this set are English Gilt (amazing as a highlight) and Heritage Rouge– both of which are lovely additions to my collection.pigmentsThe set also contains two glitters, which I have had no experience with previously so wasn’t really sure what to expect. The glitters are quite messy and don’t really stick unless you use some sort of adhesive underneath. When I use these, I prime my lids with the Too Faced Shadow Insurance Glitter Glue and spray my brush with MAC Fix + before applying. The Gold Glitter is amazing and perfect for the holiday season! I also really like the red glitter, Reflects Rust, as the glitter is finer and looks super pretty when pressed on top of a reddish brown eyeshadow such as MAC Antiqued.pigment-set-swatchI also decided to buy the Nutcracker Sweet Rose Pigment (£16) – part the permanent collection – which I had already been eyeing up for some time. This is a beautiful Frost finish metallic pigment with gold flecks throughout which give it a duo-chrome look.

The final set I picked up is the Nutcracker Sweet Nude Lip Bag (£29). This set is amazing value as the individual product prices total at £49 and the set comes with a zip-top make-up bag which is super cute! The Vamplify lipgloss in the shade Tuned In was what swayed me to purchase this set- I love the Vamplify glosses as they have the most amazing pigmentation with one swipe and are not at all sticky!

I am also loving the Cremesheen lipstick in the shade Magic Spell which is the perfect cool toned mauve-pink (unfortunately this shade is exclusive to this holiday set, however a close dupe would be MAC Hug Me). The Pro-longwear lip pencil in the shade In Control complements the lipstick perfectly and is extremely long lasting – I struggled to remove the swatch from my hand!lip-set-swatches

Overall, I am very pleased with everything I picked up from this year’s MAC holiday collection and think any of these sets would make perfect Christmas gifts (that’s if you don’t end up keeping them for yourself)! The collection is available in store or online at maccosmetics.co.uk or retailers such as John Lewis, Selfridges, Debenhams and House of Fraser.

Leave a Reply

