NARS Barbara Audacious Lipstick Dupe

Beauty

fullsizerenderNARS has to be one of my most loved make-up brands (their Laguna bronzer was one of the first high-end make-up purchases I ever made) and so I can’t believe it has taken me this long to try one of their raved about Audacious lipsticks. I recently picked up the shade Barbara, and I would go as far to say that this is my favourite lipstick formula I’ve ever tried. It’s SO creamy and completely opaque with one swipe, plus it lasts for hours.

I knew I wanted one of the nudes, but I was very undecided over which one to go for as they are all so pretty! I eventually decided upon Barbara, which is described by NARS as a ‘tan rose’. On me it is the perfect peachy-pink beige. However, when I got home and swatched the lipstick, I knew for certain that Barbara is a dupe for another lipstick I already own: MAC Velvet Teddy.

swatchesThese lipsticks are near enough identical except Barbara looks slightly more pink when applied. Barbara is also quite similar to MAC Viva Glam II– in fact I’d say if you mixed together Viva Glam II and Velvet Teddy, you’d get Barbara! If you already own Velvet Teddy, I wouldn’t say you really need NARS Barbara as well (however Velvet Teddy is one of my most loved lipsticks and so I am happy to have a dupe)! In terms of cost, MAC lipsticks are much cheaper at £15.50, whereas NARS cost £24. Although the price of NARS lipsticks is rather steep, I personally don’t mind spending that bit extra as the quality and formulation is THAT good and I will definitely be picking up more shades from the Audacious range in the near future!

 

Leave a Reply

