MAC x Mariah Carey: Review and Swatches

Beauty

packaging-1

HOW Mariah Carey is this packaging? There’s so much sparkle and glitter its almost blinding! As soon as I saw the product shots of MAC’s collaboration with Mariah, I knew I absolutely had to pick up a couple of items.

loose-powder

The item which immediately caught my eye was the Touch My Body Loose Powder, and I was lucky to snap one up considering it was the first item to sell out online. The packaging is even more amazing in person, and the powder puff is just so cute! The powder can be applied to the body for a subtle shimmer or, as I have mostly been using it, as a cheekbone highlight. It’s the most beautiful rose gold / copper toned powder (the perfect highlight for deeper skin-tones) and I know I’m going to absolutely LOVE this in summer when my face has finally seen some sun! Although it is extremely pigmented, it looks much subtler and less in-your-face sparkly when blended out.

lipstick-packagingI really wanted to love the lipsticks from this collection, especially since I’m a nude lipstick girl, but after seeing swatches I wasn’t particularly drawn to any of the five from this collaboration; I am not the biggest fan of frost lipsticks and I feared that the three Cremesheen’s from the collection would all be too pale. However, I had already fallen in love with the glittery silver casing and the butterfly detail on the bullet was just too cute to pass up. I ended up deciding on the darkest of the three Cremesheen’s, MCizzle, and I have to say that I am really pleasantly surprised by this shade! It’s a warm peachy-pink shade, but leans much pinkier when applied to the lips- I have been particularly loving this shade worn on top of a brown lip liner such as MAC Stripdown. The consistency is creamy, as with all lipsticks in the Cremesheen formula, and is semi-opaque but buildable.

Overall, I really loved this collection: the packaging is possibly my favourite ever from a MAC collaboration and the products are just as impressive!

Leave a Reply

